Slow Crafting Week

My arms were better. Not back to 100%. So I’m crafting a little bit more. 

About 30% done hand embellishing the last panel of the A-line dress. It looks the same as the other panels. 

Making progress on the baby kimono gift. Finished all the pieces, blocked and seamed. Only thing left to do is the garter and pivot neckline edging. The pattern is Harvey girl’s kimono from the Natural Knits for Babies and Moms book by Louisa Harding. 

Baby kimono & sock progress


Started the baby socks. 

Only a few more rows done on the Ketterdam shawl. It’s a great easy knit. 

I did visit the WONDERFUL Fiber Optic Yarn shop in a Cincinnati suburb. Kimber let me practice spinning on some travel wheels.  I still can’t decide on which wheel to get next. I like both the Schacht Sidekick and the Ashford Joy.  

Half of the sock yarns

Fireplace in the shop


Of the LYSs I have visited so far, she has the best selection of breed specific fibers and plant based fibers. I forgot to take a picture of the plant/silk cubes and all her handdyed fibers and yarns. 

Wool breed specific top

Camelids top

Polwarth and Bluefaced Leister top


I did drop my fiber/yarn diet while there. 

All of which will fill a shortage in planning. 

  • 5 oz each of Polwarth and BFL top to have enough for the first sweater I attempt. (Already have 12 oz) 
  • Extra bobbins for the Ashford, a dark BFL braid called Once Upon A Time to work with the braids I got at SSK
  • 2 oz Red top for the Wool n’ Spinning fiber club 
  • 5 oz Gray BFL/silk to accompany the paintbox gradient I have. 
  • The only ‘splurge’ was the purple sock yarn. 

See…easily justified. 

Break from fiber diet

Enjoy this time of year. 

Leave a Reply

