Crafty Retreat Wish List

Cooperative Press send a survey request last week to their newsletter subscribers. 

One question has been mulling around in my head since taking the survey. 

“If money were no obstacle, what retreat would I want to attend?”

It was funny that they hinted Iceland is the answer. No thanks. I have other ideas. 
I thought you might like to know what’s out there beyond the knitting world. 

My instant answer was to tour Japan for indigo dyeing, ikat weaving and shibori dyeing. 

But my old back-of-the-mind wish list came to the front.

If I had unlimited resources, I’d go to one to two workshops at each of these schools. And try all the things, (pottery, weaving, basketmaking, dyeing, printmaking, enamel,  glassblowing, and everything else). 

But if I did that in a year’s time, I would also feel a bit bonkers and scatter brained by the end. Remember, this is my dream, so let’s revise it to one workshop from one school a year. And let’s prioritize direction to printmaking, dyeing, spinning & maybe weaving. I need some focus. Right??

These are schools I have wanted to attend since college days and they are still going strong. 

I discovered these retreats since I started knitting:

All except for SSK, I would go once to these retreats. Rhinebeck (New York Sheep and Wool Festival) is probably on every knitters list. It’s not something I could manage. Too many people. 

Lots to day dream about and look forward to…

Can you tell, I’m not cooking or hosting the Thanksgiving feast this year. I have time to daydream about things besides turkey, side dishes and dessert. 

I hope y’all have a wonderful time with family and friends. 

Leave a Reply

