2016 #2 Knitting Bucket List

I couldn’t sleep last night. 

So while lying in bed, instead of reliving what we watched on tv, I thought about my knitting bucket list from the beginning of this year. I was tempted to get up and check the list. Instead, decided to think about what I want to accomplish for the last few months if the year.

Mentally inventoring your stash & dreaming up projects to knit actually kept me awake. For some reason, I focused on the problem yarns. 

(Just checked the old list. Everything is done or scratched. So satisfying.) 

Now on to the problem children. 

Problem Yarns:

  1. Buffalo Wool Company Sexy – It’s too precious to knit. Can’t find a worthy project. I’ve carry this skein around to fiber festivals & shops for three years.
  2. Habu linen tape – broke too fast when sampling. Do I just trash it? Zig machine stitch over it? Experiments needed. 
  3. Too many lace & cobweb weight yarns – can/should I combo ply them now that I have a spinning wheel and just read about combo plying? 
  4. Overdyed Knitpicks Swish – Originally bought for first cardigan. Should I risk overdying again? Or Make a dozen hats. Hats sounds good. 
  5. Too many gradients – Fiber Optic, Infinite Twist & Gales Arts

    Maybe I’ll focus on one or two of these problem yarns for the rest of this year. 

    Knitting Project Criteria:

    • Something I really want to wear
    • Something that works with existing summer and/or winter wardrobe
    • Knit from stash or my handspun (Patreon support is my whole yarn-fiber budget.)
    • SSK 2017 instructors list for new patterns to queue (I was one of the lucky raffle winners to bypass the lottery system. So nice since I was wait listed till the last minute a few times.)
    • Always a pair of socks on the needles
    • Always a few matching winter hats, cowls & maybe mittens. 
    • Alternating with using old/new in stash

    What I have worn a lot in the last year:

    • Viajante (big warm hug)
    • Bermuda (color & size)
    • Artisian (great neutrals & big warm hug)
    • Romi cowl (color & easy wear)
    • Little Arrows cowl (easiest for summer)

    Now to meld the lists and develop a plan. 

    • Problem 1: Buffalo Wool Company. I was thinking the yarn I just finished spinning would be a good companion to the bison. But the bison would recede into the backdrop. Paid too much for it to be the supporting actor. I saw a friend knit Mixed No. 3 by Kristen Ford. I really like the simplicity but luxury. A light blue silk yarn that could work with the bison.  I’ll just do it in an oversized cowl/poncho. 
    • Problem 3: too much lace & cobweb yarns. I like the idea of plying a few of these into something fingering weight. Fingering is my favorite weight to knit. This will probably be an ongoing project since I have lots and lots.

      3 plying cobweb weight yarns together

    • Problem 4: Overdyed Swish. Most definitely one hat, cowl, & mitten set for me. The rest will be charity hats for SSK2017 KAL.
    • Problem 5: too many gradients. Currently enjoying my On The Spice Market shawl by Melanie Berg. Very subtle colors. This one is going to be very wearable. I might use the Fiber Optics gradient in the same pattern or Solaris also by Melanie Berg. 

    This feels like a good plan that will carry me through the next six months. This list only leaves the Habu linen tape. I’m good. 

    Other things I want to knit right now:

    • Ketterdam by Laura Linneman in Leading Men Fiber Arts Soliliquy Director’s Choice. Or maybe in that 3 ply I just finished. This one is next in line. 
    • Meridian cardigan by Shellie Anderson in fibra natura flax
    • Maude tunic by Julie Weisenberger in linen
    • Either the Boo Knits or Joji Locatelli shawl from the Sight Is For Life book. Book proceeds went to a charity. Handspun experiments?
    • My best friend from Dallas is about to have her second grandchild and first granddaughter. 
    • Two more baby projects for friends’ grandkids. Next in line. 

      Harvey Kimono by Louis Harding

    Time to edit my ravelry queue

    Or take a nap. 

    Leave a Reply

    