Spinning Decision part 2

As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I decided against getting a spinning wheel and decided to whole-heartedly pursue spindle spinning instead. 

It was the right decision. 

At the SSK retreat in July, I wasn’t able to get into the lace spinning workshop. Hopefully, enough friends could give me some pointers.  Emily of Fibre Town podcast, provided a breakout session on supported spindling.  Very helpful tips and when Emily said supported is ideal for road trips, I got excited. 

Big sister addition to the spindle family


I bought 2 spindles at the SSK market. A large Strong Heart walnut Jeri Brock Turkish to match my medium sized Strong Heart in Koa. It will be for plying turtles (cops) spun on the Koa. 

Akerworks spindle and extra shaft

And an Akerworks medium drop spindle with the trillium whorl and an extra shaft. 

Experimenting with them. I flipped the Akerworks upside-down to see if it could be used as a supported spindle. The first cop was wound counterclockwise. AND I had put the whorl on upside-down.  So I couldn’t leave the first cop on. Wound it onto a plying ball. 

Watched a few more YouTube videos on supported spindles. Lori Rhone of Deerfield Creations was the most helpful. Another helpful video was from The Woolery. And Emily of Fibre Town just posted a short podcast episode demonstrating the supported spindle. 

1st Plying ball of merino spun on supported spindle

After some fits & starts, there’s less fiddling setting the hook  for the top whorl, flicking the spindle and adding the finished single on to the cop. Pretty good on the car, unless the roads are so bad, you’re bouncing around too much. 

At first, I thought I was spinning faster on supported. That might have been true last week. But I started drop spinning again. I am definitely faster on the drop spindle and much more consistent. 

Clearly I still a novice about fiber. I’m playing now with fiber that has lots of little bits of random bits and shiny Angelina.  On supported, very difficult to get a fine single. It’s more like a thin art yarn…very slubby. Interestingly, I switched to drop spinning (same spindle) and I now get a very fine consistent single. Guessing, the weight of the spindle with a cop and a faster, longer spin are what makes the difference. 

Will need to check with my spinning friends. 

Two knitting projects and spindle spinning all live in my one hobo bag now. A wheel would never fit in my bag. I can easily switch between all three projects with easy. 

It’s working perfectly for road trips. When my hands get tired doing one, switching to something different is easy. 

Adan of Akerworks said I could request a pointy tip on the shaft that could be used for supported spindling. It’s a sharp tip. 

Haven’t figured out a spindle bag yet. Although I’m starting to think a simple satin drawstring bag or Japanese bento bag for now. 

Leave a Reply

