Spinning Decision 

I’ve sort of settled on the spinning thing. 

Came to the realization that spinning for me is about the process, not the product. I don’t need a spinning wheel!

Unless it’s gifted. I certainly won’t turn one down.

If I change my mind later, I know the Ashford Joy or Schacht Sidekick fits the best. Probably the Louet Victoria. I think they felt better because they were smaller. 

I had already planned to buy an Akerworks drop spindle. I won’t know exactly which one until playing with them at market.  I bought two medium shafts and one trillium whorl.  I might need one more medium shaft and one long shaft for plying. But that can happen later. 

Thursday was a free day for me. No classes except a breakout session on chosing a spinning wheel and then the Tasting room at night. Spent the whole day spindle spinning on my Turkish.  Learned from Jeri Brock how to 2 ply my yarn. I had processed 100 yards of a 2 ply lace weight merino by lunchtime. Then helped her with her breakout session demonstration materials on spinning on the Turkish. I really enjoyed it. 

Handspun 2 ply lace weight merino

Jeri Brock medium Turkish spindle, Strong Heart motif in koa wood


Of course, I then had to buy another Turkish from her at Saturday’s market. I settled on a large one and hopefully will match my current one. It does, but in walnut. 

Jeri Brock large Turkish spindle, Strong Heart motif in walnut

The Tasting Room is quite an experience. Laura, Leslie & other volunteers have brought in their tools for us to test drive. So sorry I didn’t take pictures. I was busy!

There were all kinds of needles, handmade spindles, fiber prep things, etc. The most amazing thing, all the spinning wheels. 

Let’s see if I can list them. 

From smallest to largest:

  1. Unknown maker
  2. Hitchhiker
  3. Louet S40 Hatbox
  4. Pocket
  5. Ashford Joy
  6. Schacht Sidekick
  7. Lendrum Classic
  8. Schacht Ladybug
  9. Schacht Matchless
  10. Acadia
  11. Custom Works
  12. Schacht Flatiron 
  13. Schacht Reeves
  14. Country Craft
  15. Lendrum Saxony

These are the ones I tried. In addition were several electric wheels and a charhka (Indian cotton). 

All online advise on selecting a wheel was ‘you have to try it.’ Now I get it. I can’t imagine another event where we get to try them all at once. Only two were comfortable (Ashford Joy and Schacht Sidekick) and easy for me to spin. But all felt really fast.  Too fast. 

Spindles it is. The Jeri Brock Turkish and the Akerworks drop spindles. Right decision for now. 

Added to Collection: Jeri Brock large Turkish spindle, Strong Heart motif in walnut


Started playing with the drop spindle. It spins like a dream. 

Akerworks medium with trillium whorl

Leave a Reply

