Preparing for the Next SSK KAL

The Mercedes Tarasovich SSK KAL ended May 31. I knitted two Openwork Triangle shawls, one cowl and lots of hats for a total of XXXX yards. Love learning brioche through the her Craftsy class, Brioche Knitting Made Easy. 

Mercedes Tarasovich designed brioche patterns

Brioche hats for charity


The last KAL before the July retreat is about to start. What can I accomplish now the the heat & humidity of a southern summer has settled in? Hmmm….
The June-July KAL is all inclusive of any designer who will be at the retreat. Much more variety to chose from.

  • One charity hat a week. (Estimate 100 yards/hat)
  • Socks! I miss working on socks. And we get an extra ticket if we are using vendor yarns (which I have plenty of in stash). Fortunately we have a few sock designers coming. (Guesstimate two or three pairs sounds ambitious, 350 yards each)
  • Already have a shawl planned, pattern purchased with yarn & needles at the ready. Alice Elizabeth shawl by Laura Linneman has been on my favorites since it was exclusive to Loopy Ewe. (600 yards)
  • And if really ambitious a cotton or linen something. 

SSK KAL yarns Gale’s Arts, Cyborg Craft Room, Wondering Wool & Knittyandcolor


Some of the yarn I plan to use. 

Then, of course, there’s more motivation to keep knitting…the Knitgirllls’ StashDash.

  • My knitty friends are participating. So me too.
  • I CAN continue the accountability part for another 5-6 weeks?
  • Definitely want to use up stash.

I do want to make some bags for SSK doorprizes.  


I like this small Japanese knot bag. Especially the denim. Maybe I’ll marble some fabric for a bias trim. 

I’m working now on a lined larger version. Definitely more complicated. 

Leave a Reply

