Fabric Stashdash: Not KonMari-ing

The Knitgirllls have an annual Stashdash for fiber, with yardage goals (3k, 5k, 7k, 10k, 15k & giveaways gifts. I am not participating in this event officially. I don’t need the pressure to produce a lot of knitting (and as mentioned last don’t want to be tempted with spinning).

Though I do love idea, the incentive to finish WIPs or use up stash. I might at least do that. I do have at least two shawls and a few pairs of socks I can complete. At an average 400 yards per project, that would be a measly 1600 total yards. Not even close to the easiest goal posted. 

So I’ll participate in spirit. 

I prefer to focus on my own fabric Stashdash. Thinking about officially closing my etsy shop has freed me from saving all my fabric stash for the business. Don’t worry, I never expensed the fabric so the IRS won’t care. 

I definitely increased my stash beyond manageable levels while running the Esty shop.  And if I’m totally honest, shopping for fabric was my favorite part of the business. I just did too much of the shopping and not enough sewing. Fabric sparks joy. More fabric sparked more joy. All the potential projects….Sigh…follow through, not so much. Sewing not so much. 
Now, I’m looking for every possible easy project to consume all this fabric. I have given myself permission to change things out. Ok, so this is the KonMari part. I’m tackling the things that don’t spark joy. And turning them into things I love. 

The first were the kitchen bar chairs. Posted about these a few weeks ago. 

The second is the 12 year old living room throw pillows. Not sure why I lived with the ugliest pillows for so long. We called them, Chewbaca pillows. 

Ugly furry pillows

New batik, silk, & microsuede pillows

New pillows sparking joy


I love the new color direction this is taking. The house was originally painted in browns, gold,and greens. Not my favorites. 

Now I’m inspired to add more blues in more places. Definitely more blue ceilings than one one experiment last year. 

Finally found a bright spot for blue bottles I’ve had for 15 years. 

Blue olive oil bottles


You’d think I planned all of this. You’d be wrong. I’m just discovering what now looks obvious. 

Next project


Next projects: blue borders for the living room drapes and re-upholster the guest room headboard. Maybe painting the living room if my knee -and ankle is better soon. 

One thought on “Fabric Stashdash: Not KonMari-ing

Leave a Reply

