Medium Project: Recover 4 Chair Seats

Apologies for not posting. Life and mind were elsewhere. 

This project happened because:

  • I want to use up my fabric stash
  • I’m done living with uncomfortable chairs for 25 years
  • I wanted something to better color coordinate with the kitchen. 

Surprise! It took a whole day to accomplish and a bit exhausted the second day. 

Very very happy with the results. 

I bought two 2″ x 18″ x 23″ foam prepackaged at the craft/fabric store. I was in too much of a rush to wait for an employee to cut exact length for me.  I did seat test it on the store floor. Just to make sure I was getting the right amount of squish. Remember this project is as much for aesthetics as comfort. 

I had several choices if fabric in the studio. I choose the most practical, sturdy, & not too thick to staple through. 

Out with the old.

Cutting the foam to size was easy with the electric kitchen knife. I’m so glad I learned this trick. 

 

Use an electric kitchen knife to cut foam

  
 

Pulling out the old staples was the toughest part of the job. Flat head screw driver and needle nose pliers and a lot of patience got it done. 

One chair’s worth of staples done. Three to go.

Using a good stapler makes a big difference. I would not have enough grip strength with the old fashion one. Better still would be an electric one. But not for an occasional project. 

  
I forgot to take before pictures. 

Cut the fabric with generous length & depth for stretching and stapling to the back. I had 81-12″ extra. Cut the excess after all the stapling is done. 

Like all things that need a tight fit. You start stapling at the center of one side. Then alternate to the opposite side. I couldn’t take pictures of the process. I was kneeling on the seat to squeeze the foam down & pulling the fabric as taut as possible & stapling it down.  No free hands to take a photo. 

 

Basic stapling sequence. 1-2-3-4-a-b-c-d-etc

 
 

Corner

 

Here’s the after. 

 

Newly recovered comfy chair.

 
Yeah! Success. 

DIY cost:

  • Fabric $3 for 1.5 yards
  • Foam $10 for 2 (on 50% sale)
  • Lots of staples
  • Lots of elbow grease and time

Chat with you next week. 

One thought on “Medium Project: Recover 4 Chair Seats

  1. Pingback: Fabric Stashdash: Not KonMari-ing | slanted stitches

Leave a Reply

