Zigzagging with the Season

I am focusing on the front yard this month. 

Nothing like being the one in the neighborhood with a degree in horticulture and the ugliest yard. 

My excuse: I’m a California girl, meaning I’m a whimp around mosquitos, the extreme heat/humidity and cold weather AND I only know west coast plants. 

The yard was the worse eyesore all summer due to my absence and lack of water. Since I am back home, more than less AND there is little time left this year to do something. This is it. 

The gardener that knows most of the neighborhood is doing all the manual stuff. I’m a DYIer but this is too big a project for me. 

Plans (sketch) have been submitted and approved by the HOA.  

  • Remove the existing loose stone retaining wall and lawn. 
  • Create a 15″ masonry stone wall that extends all the way to the sidewalk. 
  • Change the irrigation system to drip. 
  • Add more shade loving shrubs, perennials and annuals. 

I am waiting on the gardener for a bid on some options he wants to include. 

  • He wants to remove the big crepe myrtles on the corners and move the big magnolias by the front door out to the corners. And then add weeping cherries flanking the front door. Sounds too ambitious to me. 
  • He wants to use brick, that matches the house, instead of stone. I like the idea but cost will be the determinant factor. 

I’ve started the fun part, shopping for the shrubs. 

I might have to wait until spring to put in perennials. 

Chat with you next week.  

 

One thought on “Zigzagging with the Season

Leave a Reply

