Bucket List Viajante in Progress

As mentioned in a previous post, I started working on a bucket list item, Viajante by Martina Behm. 

Of course I made some modifications. 

In section two. 

Change the center double decrease from ever other row to every THIRD row. This will widened the shawl slightly faster. Less choking feeling when worn as a cowl. 

Center double decrease

 
Change the double center increase to 

Double double center increase (4 new stitches). And then a rest row. 

I did the double double center increase this way. 

1 stitch before the marker, make 1, knit 1, YO, slip marker, YO, knit 1, make 1

But it was a bit too puckered. And I was too lazy to block it out. 

So I changed the make 1 to another YO. 

Center double double increase

 
It has been a wonderful knit anywhere project. But as the thing grows that might change to only night time and road trip knitting.  Oh, that means I should get some socks or hat on needles as purse knitting. 

I am about to finish skein two, 860 yards done. Half way through the shawl-cowl. 

Half way done knitting Viajante

  I will probably go back to the double center decrease every other row now. 

I have not counted stitches. To be honest I don’t want to know how many stitches are on the needles. I do track how many rows I finish every night. The number of rows I can finish each night is slowing down to about 5.

Since this is mostly stockinette I am trying to practice knitting without looking at it. I saw Laura, of the Knitgirllls podcast, working on socks this way. Fortunately, my problem is not dropping stitches doing this. What I do is slip stitches once in a while. So this does require serious admiring, or inspecting, of the work.  

Handwinding third skein yarn is satisfying.

2 thoughts on “Bucket List Viajante in Progress

  1. dingledaisy

    I still have not started my Viajante. Still working on the 2 shawls that I want finished by Thurs. I have finished one. But I am curious as to why you changed the center increase. I understand the decrease and will probably do the same. Looking good and can,t wait to see the finished project. Are you going to do it as long as the pattern?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

