Between Projects Panic Time

It’s still too hot to think about anything serious. 

Having finished or nearly finished two paired of socks (test knitting Up and Out Socks by Laura Linneman in Kertzer Aloe Fiesta sock yarn and vanilla socks in Plymouth Sockotta . I was in a slight panic mode. That in-between  time is about indecision and not my favorite. I’d rather be working on less than fun projects than have nothing to work on at all. 

 

Up & Out Socks by Laura Linneman

  

plain sock

 So I started two new knitting projects. I fell in love with a shop sample at Bliss Yarns in Brentwood, TN. I already had yarn (Crazy Zauberball and Noro Taiyo Sock Yarn). I just needed to find the pattern on Ravelry. It took a bit of hunting. But I did find it, Zebra (€5 by Margarete Dolff).   It will be the new knit worthy gift projects. It’s a perfect low brain power project.

But of course, I will want to make small modifications. Too late for this project but I have 3 more skeins of similar color shifting yarns in stash. Next time: 

  • Cast on 64 stitches instead of 80 to make a narrow longer scarf. 
  • Edge the border with 4 seed stitches to prevent the edges from curling under. 

 

Zebra, pattern by Margarete Dollf, in Crazy Zauberball & Noro Taiyo

 
The second project is motivated by two things. 

Gail, one of my closest knitting friends started hers.  So we’ll have a mini knit along. 

I tried on a LOT of hand knit sweaters at SSK. NONE of them looked good on me. Sigh, so disappointing that a Hitofude or Swirl or  Featherweight look terrible on me. The one thing that did look good, Molly’s Viajante (which has been in my queue with all those sweaters and requires as much yarn as a sweater). So I started it out of old stash. In fact this yarn, Araucania Lace Merino,  is one of my very first yarn purchases. Already made very minor modifications, crochet cast on, slip stitch edge and moved Kfb one stitch in from the edge. 

Viajante by Martina Behm in Araucania Lace Merino

Yeah! Not in In-between time. Love both of these projects! Especially now, it’s just to hot to do any serious stuff like cleaning the house.

Leave a Reply

