Road Trip Midwest: Sidetrip

What do you do on a long road trip?

Irrelavent question for my knitting friends. I know you’re knitting. 

But what about the rest of you?

I use to map out the route for the local public radio stations, writing down their radio frequencies. If I took the time, that is.  When hubby got tired of listening to them talk, I’d find a music station we could agree on. 

Now, I have a catalog of podcasts saved up that we both enjoy. He learns Lambic beer, exposed to natural yeasts & aged in oak barrels making them sour and smoky, (Splendid Table). Business and life skills stuff from Chris Sacca (Tim Ferriss Show). I find out about Story Core’s app (the TED Radio Hour).

I do knit. This time, I figured out why I don’t have second sock syndrome. There’s always some goof-up in the first sock that I want to correct in the second. Example: this is the first short summer sock I’m knitting. I put the afterthought heel is too close to the cuff, so it feels like the back of the sock will slide down. I added a few short rows to deepen the heel. Not really happy using self striping in the heel. Do I dare try something different in the second sock?

Sockotta, Plymouth Yarn Co., discontinued, third try knitting the afterthought heel

I also just stare out enjoying the scenery, take snapshots of clouds, and nap.

 

Midwest farm land

 
It’s easy to imagine some idyllic pastoral life as we pass by at 75 miles an hour through the country side. Instead, I became more and more alarmed. All we saw for a hundreds and hundreds of miles through three or four states, corn fields. Nothing else. No other crop. Very few fallow (resting) fields. 

There aren’t enough people zigging while EVERYONE seems to be zagging. 

Side trip

Usually we stop at a hotel just off the freeway. This time we stopped overnight in a small (10,000 population) town along the Mississippi River miles off the interstate.

It was a shock. Yes, there were a few beautifully preserved Victorian homes along the bluff, like the one below. 

 

Queen Anne home, small town along the Mississippi River

 
But just a few blocks away…most of the homes were in such unbelievable disrepair. Roofs collapsed, windows without glass, raw weathered wood, whole structures leaning to one side, & streets neglected for years. They were not abandoned homes. People were living in these buildings. It felt too intrusive to take pictures.  

It felt hopeless.  It breaks my heart. 

Apparently there are people doing something positive about the problem. I just listened to this situation in rural Washington on Rendered, Mighty Tieton

Leave a Reply

