Road Trip to Austin, Still in Autumn

I am finally back in studio mode.

The slanted stitches shop will be updated this afternoon with the newest small bags. One of them is already on a podcast (more later). Here’s a sneak peak:

Slanted Stitches, Autumn Flowers Small Bag

Autumn Flowers Small Bag, in wristlet style

Slanted Stitches, Autumn Flowers Small Bag

Autumn Flowers Small Bag, in handbag style

You’ve seen the iterations. This one has been road tested. I really like this size. It’s big enough for one skein size shawl or socks. If you don’t mind a stuffed bag, you can hold two 100 gram skeins. A pattern folded in half fits just right. Expect to more colors. Oh, and you can convert it from a hand bag to a wristlet.

OK back to the road trip…
I got enough sewing done while at my parents home over the Thanksgiving weekend, one day at home when I got one bag finished and decided I wouldn’t schlep the rest to Austin. Ten hour drive before and after which included the one hundred mile gauntlet of I35 road construction means I wanted a fun day.

Summer in Angers Shawl, designed by Elizabeth Green Musselman

Summer in Angers Shawl, designed by Elizabeth Green Musselman

Since Austin was a one day destination, I took a chance to see if Elizabeth Green Musselman, Dark Matter Knits, would be interested in meeting at the IMAX to see Interstellar. Wouldn’t you assume with a name like Dark Matter, she might be interested in a sci-fi movie? Fan girl (lurking, not active in the forum) from episode one of her podcasts, means she wouldn’t know me at all. But I did test knit her Summers In Angers shawl. It really is one of my favorite shawls to wear. Hopefully, she’d remember me from that. She did remember.

We had a great time. I gave her the one bag I finished of the new size, just happened to be a good autumn color for her. I guess she liked it, because she chatted about it in her last podcast!

Thanks Elizabeth!

Austin

View of downtown Austin

Dallas

Drive-by Dallas downtown

The weather was very grey, cold, and threaten rain the whole trip. No pretty sunrises or sunsets this trip.

 

 

Leave a Reply

