Friday Finds: Four in One + One

I know this is Black Friday.  I should be doing some kind of promotional thing for my Etsy shop.  But guess what…I’m in the middle of another road trip.  The shop will have to wait until I get back.

Think of this as a break from all the consumerism and a chance to dream about making stuff.

OK, back to Four in One…(links to four posts at one website)

Pic of Abby Glassenberg

Abby Glassenberg of While She Naps

You know how the web leads down some many rabbit holes.  I found the FIELD of rabbit holes at one podcaster’s website.  Here’s how I wondered into this field…Kristen Nicholas, of Getting Stitched on the Farm, posted earlier this year her podcast interview by Abby Glassenberg of While She Naps.  Of course, I had to go listen to what Kristen is doing.

I was surprised that the format was so different from all the other crafting podcast interviewers.  It is more about the behind the scenes/business side of the crafter’s life.  She is asking all the questions I’d be asking.   Abby’s podcast immediately became one of my favorite weekly audio listens.   She finds people in so many areas of creativity that I wouldn’t normally encounter.  Ok, I like seeing all possible rabbit holes for future deeper exploration.  Plus the second half of the podcast is a round robin of their favorite things.  When I listen, I must have a notepad at hand (or be on her website to checkout the links) to dig deeper into their favorite things.  So many tips, tricks, apps, or tools that have made my life easier.

Here are three of my favorite interviews:

Fluffmongers

Jenny Maj, Fluffmongers

This interview is on the website and not a podcast.  I’m guessing it’s because you have to see the pictures she’s included.  I love how Jenny Maj of Fluffmonger styled her soft toys.  So cute!

 

 

Ann Woods

Ann Wood, Paper mache ships pattern

Ann Wood, Paper mache ships pattern

I love Ann Wood’s aesthetic of rescuing precious remnants of fabrics and turning them into

beautiful botanicals (mushrooms and plants), birds (love the owls) and gossamer ships of muslim and lace.  I bought the ships pattern as a weekend craft project.

 

Kristin Nicholas and Gale Zucker

Kristen Nicholas, lambs at Leyden Glen Farm

Kristen Nicholas, lambs at Leyden Glen Far

Most of you knitters and crocheters know Kristin Nicholas.  She’s a regular expert on Interweave’s Knitting Daily TV.  I love her blog about living on a sheep farm in New England.  Always the best place for sheepy pictures.

 

 

This Is Colossal

You may as well just keep this website on your radio.  LOOK at these portraits of goats and sheep!

This Is Colossal, Photography portraits by Kevin Horan

This Is Colossal, Photography portraits by Kevin Horan

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

