Part 3: Impatience Equals Problem Solver

Previous posts:  Who is Johnson O’Connor? and Part 2: My First Reaction to JOCRF

The counselor’s first question to me was, “You’re not a very patient person, are you?”
You can read my initial reaction in the post, Part 2: My First Reaction to JOCRF.

“It means you’d make a great consultant….A consultant who would be great at identifying an issue/problem…come up with a solution/recommendation.  Consultants are not great at maintenance, managing, daily routine…Combined with your other strengths and weakness, in industrial engineering.”

OK…try to connect the dots between being impatient, being a consultant and being an industrial engineer.  He makes sense.  I thought I was just ADD or something.

Except he said “engineer.”  Me…never…Too much math.  My research after the test… I would have made a good industrial designer…engineer, never.

What is an industrial designer?  They take an idea, a concept or an existing product or environment and make changes that improve user experience.  Companies like Ideo who consult with Apple or Oxo.
Turns out it’s something I naturally do at home and wherever I’ve worked.  Most people adjust to what’s “always been done.”    I have a threshold.  I’ll live with it, as is, for only so long, but if I’m still frustrated.  Then I’ve got to fix it, find a better way.

Examples:  

Last month, at a meeting, there was a table left of the door with name tags and a sign-in sheet. But someone had to point and yell, “Sign in!”  After the fourth person, I knew that wasn’t working.  The meeting tables and chairs were right of the door.  No one even thinks to look left.  I dragged the table 2 to 3 feet over the right and 3 to 4 feet away from the wall and door.  In other words, the table became a barrier to walk anymore than 2 feet into the room.   Now they would automatically know to sign in and take a name tag.  Success.  No more shutting.

Or how the kitchen is organized.  I store items either where I’d use them (I should move the cutting boards closer to the knives) or group items by some category like baking, serving, drinks, etc.  It’s been 10 years in this house, so we are due for a major re-organization.

Keeping a clean house still alludes me.  Right now,  I have a twisted solution. We have a large Bible Study small group.  I am forced to clean at least once a month.  The rest of the days the dust and clutter wins.

I meet weekly with fellow knitters to teach families and older children how to knit at the residential house connected with the local children’s hospital.  The other gals are seasoned knitters and I am the new kid.  They would come in with lots of different project bags.  My plastic bags looked bit tacky.  I stitched up a few simple ones from my fabric stash and share them with the gals.  They liked them.  Me…the bags were ok.  I’m too embarrassed to show them to you.

Next bag generation, I made one for each of them as Christmas presents.  I’m proud of these bags.  But of course, as I see the gals use them, I see the shortcomings.

Then the gals start sharing more and more about bag features they love.

Zipper, wrist strap, sturdy fabric, shape….what about needle holders? pockets?
My knitting is evolving as well, socks on size 0 double pointed needles (DPNs).  A beaded cobweb lace shawl.  I needed quick access to crochet hooks, stitch markers and needle holder.

Again, more feedback and affirmations.  They were encouraging me open an Etsy shop by the Pipeliner retreat in March.  Eloise even printed out business cards for me.  I DID make a bag for her and for Laura of the Knitgirllls podcast.  But I was dragging my feet getting more made.  I loved the finished bags, but hated making them.  It was a frustrating process.  That is not the beginning of a lasting business.

If I open an Etsy shop, I want to make bags I LOVE making.  I do not want to be battling with these things every day.  Usually, by the second or third version, I can make improvements in the design that are quicker, easier, more efficient.  NOT THIS TIME. My frustration was near the give-up-&-quit threshold level. 

I was in desperate need of a ‘A HA’ moment.  Hubby and I remembered an old orange tool bag or coin purse that had a different kind of closure.  Squeeze the ends to open and it snapped close. He found it.  It was a red coin purse. It was sacrificed for research.

So now, I’m happy with the outcome of this bag.  It took a few more weeks and a few Craftsy classes to finally get the process down.  Although, I still need to create a checklist for assembly, at last count, there are 30 pieces in this puzzle.  And I’m always forgetting something.

There’s always something to improve.
There’s always some problem to solve.
This is what makes things interesting…who knew impatience was a good thing.

Previous posts:

Part 1: Who Is Johnson O’Connor?

Part 2: My First Reaction to JOCRF

More posts to come….

3 thoughts on “Part 3: Impatience Equals Problem Solver

  1. Pingback: Part 2: My First Reaction to JOCRF | slanted stitches

  2. Pingback: Who is Johnson O’Connor? | slanted stitches

  3. Pingback: Part 4: Subjective/Objective | slanted stitches

Leave a Reply

